Beautiful Flower

funky-flower-lb2

Beautiful Flower

This is a song for every girl who’s
Ever been through something she thought she couldn’t make it through
I sing these words because
I was that girl too
Wanting something better than this
But who do I turn to

Now we’re moving from the darkness into the light
This is the defining moment of our lives

‘Cause you’re beautiful like a flower
More valuable than a diamond
You are powerful like a fire
You can heal the world with your mind

There is nothing in the world that you cannot do
When you believe in you, who are beautiful
Yeah, you, who are brilliant
Yeah, you, who are powerful
Yeah, you, who are resilient

This is a song for every girl who
Feels like she is not special
‘Cause she don’t look like a supermodel Coke bottle
The next time the radio tells you to shake your moneymaker
Shake your head and tell them, tell them you’re a leader

Now we’re moving from the darkness into the light
This is the defining moment of our lives

‘Cause you’re beautiful like a flower
More valuable than a diamond
You are powerful like a fire
You can heal the world with your mind

There is nothing in the world that you cannot do
When you believe in you, who are beautiful
Yeah, you, who are brilliant
Yeah, you, who are powerful
Yeah, you, who are resilient

Yeah, you, who are beautiful
Yeah, you, who are brilliant
Yeah, you, who are powerful
Yeah, you, who are resilient

Yeah, you, this song is for you
Yeah, you, this song is for you
Yeah, you, this song is for you
Yeah, you, yeah, you
You are brilliant

– India Arie

13 Comments

Filed under flowers, Lensbaby, nature, photography

13 responses to “Beautiful Flower

  1. What a beautiful picture. I like the muted background colors

  2. Wow wonderful photo! Love the softness of the photo and the pink tones of the flower.

  3. ELK

    one of my favorite IA songs such a poet…like you with that shot!

  4. Wonderful and inspirational song. Love the words and accompanying image. An excellent ‘pairing’.

  5. Elizabeth

    I hadn’t heard that one! Love it. I love the softness of the photo.

  6. MTB

    Beautiful flower. Why is it pink and green? My Mom has one and it’s white.

  7. Nicely observed Toni, a neat post of words and image

  8. very beautiful dof! nice shot

  9. Thanks, everyone!
    .
    MTB – It is just a different variety of the same type of flower. I took this at the office where I work and we have three of these, one red (BIG red), this pink one, and a white one. :)

  10. nice dof. very optimistic your shot :)

  11. Your office looks so interesting. I can not make my office look this interesting or pretty. You are also lucky cameras dont have smell sensors attached as the area around my of stinks really bad.

    I love the pretty pink in this one.

  12. BoB

    This lensbaby is a great lens

  13. Col

    At this grey time of year I find myself yearning for these sping like colours.