More catkins…

Birch tree catkins

These catkins are from one of two birch trees in the opposite corner of my backyard from the aspen that I posted about a couple of days ago.  The aspen was actually supposed to join the birch trees, but I got it in November one year as a bareroot tree, along with a few other trees from the Arbor Day Foundation.  I planted them all together in a row in the dark the night I got them and had planned on transplanting them that next spring.  Didn’t get around to it and about four years later they are still where I originally planted them.  I don’t deal well with the cold, so fall and spring yard work don’t really get done until summer.  Most of the bareroot trees didn’t survive the winter, so that was probably a good thing.

Comments Off on More catkins…

Filed under photography, things

Comments are closed.