It’s finished…sorta

Color reaction bowl

The beginnings of the glass project that I posted the other day is done.  Well, not quite.  It was done yesterday morning, until I took it to work to show my boss, along with another piece, and chipped the bowl when the two pieces clanked together.  Brought it back home and hand polished out the chip (it was small) and then sandblasted the top, because it got a couple of small scratches in it.  It is back in the kiln for a fire polish to bring back the gloss somewhat from the sandblasting.  It was not a good day for the bowl.  And my boss wasn’t even there yesterday.  Go figure.

2 Comments

Filed under photography

2 responses to “It’s finished…sorta

  1. Elizabeth

    I would be really interested to see how that was made! I like the 3 different styles all in one bowl.

  2. Thanks, Elizabeth! The center squares are from an aperture pour and the two colors surrounding them are frit – a pink opal and cranberry transparent. Both are reactive colors with the base of French vanilla. Mostly the colors just deepened from their original color. Some reactive colors will get a line of brown around them. I got a little heavy handed with the frit, though.