Can’t see the forest for the trees

Can\'t see the forest

Spent a lovely day yesterday with Monika and Peggy.  We had lunch at the Steam Plant Grill in Spokane.  The food was just alright, but the atmosphere was great.  The building was the old steam plant for Spokane and they left most of the parts from back in the day.  After lunch we headed over to Sacred Heart Children’s Hospital for the Glass Quilt unveiling, which turned out to be very emotional for me.  I was not expecting that at all.  We went for a lovely scenic drive around Spokane – there’s that “lovely” again.  We were going to stop at the Northwest Museum of Arts and Culture, but it was closed.  Monika and I kept running into closed signs yesterday.  Part of the scenic drive included a stop at Arbor Crest Winery, but they had just closed by the time we got there.  We did get to walk around for a bit, but they were setting up for a private party and didn’t really want us there.  Off we went to Coeur d’Alene for dinner at Brix.  My son was working and treated us to appetizers – he’s such a sweetie.  Good wine, good food and good conversation.  It was just a great day throughout.

3 Comments

Filed under nature, people, photography, places

3 responses to “Can’t see the forest for the trees

  1. Elizabeth

    Sounds like a great day! I love that photo.

    You are making me want to take a drive up to Spokane sometime. How long of a drive is it from Portland?

  2. It was a great day! It is probably around a six hour drive to Coeur d’Alene – about 30 minutes less if you stop at Spokane. It is absolutely gorgeous there. More photos will be posted in the next few days, with a couple of quilt photos in between. If you are an outdoors person, and I think you are :), you will want to go on to CdA, too. The lake is gorgeous and there is a lot to do there.

  3. Elizabeth

    yep, definitely an outdoors gal. LOL. Thanks for the info! I guess it’s not as close as I anticipated, but I do want to visit Coeur d’Alene someday so I will have to consider both now.