A rose is a rose

Mini Rose

“O, be some other name!  What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet…”  From Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet.

From our office windows we have a view of our beautifully landscaped backyard.  In one of the clusters of trees we could see these bright pink flowers.  It is quite a walk to where they are planted so I didn’t get out there right away, but one day after work I finally went out there with my camera in hand.  The flowers were roses, a kind of miniature variety, but roses none-the-less.  The fragrance was heady as I approached, as each bush was loaded with blossoms.  I’ve got more photos that I’ll be posting.

4 Comments

Filed under flowers, nature, photography

4 responses to “A rose is a rose

  1. Elizabeth

    Pffft .. I do not like the smell of roses so, as much as I love Shakespeare, I have to disagree with him there. 🙂

    I love how this is framed.

  2. I almost spewed my pop all over my monitor with that, Elizabeth! Too funny!

  3. I really like the crisp edge on your photos. Do you use a tripod? I’m thinking I need to get one, but I’m too lazy to set one up and carry it around.

  4. I do have a tripod, Amy, but the only time I use it is when I’m photographing my glass. I do sometimes tweak a little bit with a very slight adjustment in Photoshop with the Unsharp Mask.