Broken antennae

It wasn’t until I was posting this photo that I realized this little guy has a broken antennae.  I wonder how that affects him?  Whenever I see a praying mantis, I think of The Lord’s Prayer.  Do you suppose the mantis forgave those who trespassed against him in breaking his antennae?  Was he led into temptation and in some way broke his antennae doing something he shouldn’t have been doing?  Was he fighting with another mantis?  Is this a she and not a he?  Lots of questions, but he wasn’t talking.  He was keeping an observant eye on me, however, while I was taking lots of photos of him.

1 Comment

Filed under nature, photography

One response to “Broken antennae

  1. Elizabeth

    at least s/he wasn’t running away! maybe their mind had lots of questions about you!