One potato, two…

One potato, two potatoes, three potatoes four
Five potatoes, six potatoes, seven potatoes more
One potato, two potatoes, three potatoes four
Five potatoes, six potatoes, seven potatoes more

I thought I’d take a break from the fall foliage photos for a couple of days and give you a shot of some lovely spuds, fresh off the truck and rolling onto the conveyor belt of the piler, which (as the name implies) piles the potatoes.  It is too dark in the storage to get a good shot of the process, but maybe when one of the bays is close to full and the piler is outside I can try it again. 

Storage bays differ in size, but lets say a bay holds 7,000 tons.  That translates to over 37,330,000 six ounce potatoes.  That’s a lot of potatoes.

4 Comments

Filed under agriculture, nature, photography

4 responses to “One potato, two…

  1. What great texture. They look so real. That is very cool.

  2. Elizabeth

    that is a ton(s) of potatoes! 🙂

  3. Hi, I found your blog through Elizabeth. I really like the lighting in this shot and great use of DOF too.

    BTW: I think your photo of the Barn House that won second prize at you local art fair is really beautiful. Congratulations you must be proud.

  4. Christopher: Thanks! WP was doing some funky things yesterday morning, making me moderate your post. It wasn’t me, I promise!
    Elizabeth: Snort!! 😛
    Liss: Thanks, on both counts! I’m glad you came on over from E’s blog – thanks, E!!