A boy and his mom

Out for a stroll on a beautiful Sunday afternoon.  Walking hand in hand with the sun at their back, their shadows are long as they head for their car.  Reminds me of a time twenty-some years ago when my oldest was that age and he wanted to hold my hand.  Today he is all grown up and he still holds hands, but no longer with me.  That is as it should be.

I am participating in a challenge at Springtree Road to post November photos in black and white – click here for more info.  This is my second black and white photo – yesterday’s was the first.  Again, I had to desaturate this in Photoshop, as I did yesterday’s photo.  I also spent a few hours yesterday playing with the black and white setting on my camera, which has to be utilized in “creative mode” with which I’m not really familiar.  I’ve taken a few photos in the b&w setting before, but not many.  If I can do the whole month this way, it will really force me to better learn my camera.  That was the whole point of this blog, so this will be a good thing.

10 Comments

Filed under people, photography, places

10 responses to “A boy and his mom

  1. What I love about digital is that you can try and experiment. I love learning new things; trying to do something that is outside of your area of expertise.

    I think the day we stop trying to learn is the day that we die.

  2. They look so happy and connected and ‘close’. Lovely image!

  3. Elizabeth

    I was forced to take photos in shutter speed mode this weekend after my photos kept getting washed out with light (I must’ve done something to the settings and have no idea what I did – need a reset button, LOL).

    great photo

  4. A wonderful feeling of togetherness, a special bond. Matched to your excellent words, the piece becomes a rather special photograph with much significance.

    Wonderful work

  5. Maya – Thanks!
    Christopher – I couldn’t agree more about what you said about learning. That is the nice thing about digital – no film cost!
    Marcie – Thanks! I think that closeness is what struck me when I saw them walking by.
    Elizabeth – I can relate! I fiddled with so many things yesterday, I probably totally screwed up my camera.
    Floog – Thank you for the kind words and for stopping by!

  6. This is very special. A very nice BW candid shot that gives a reminiscent feeling =)

  7. BoB

    Very special shot, I like your words.

  8. Al

    Great composition Toni! Vignetting certainly sets the mood for this image. B&W is perfect.

  9. your joining in too. so cool!!