Get out the Vote!

gotv

Election day is finally here!  The presidential campaigning has been going on for, what, two years now?  I’m ready for it to be over, for the right man for the job to be voted in, for change, for healing, for renewed global respect, for intelligence, eloquence, and thoughtful, measured response. 

I don’t care who you vote for.  Well…yes I do, but the important thing is that you get out and vote, whether it is at a polling place or by mail in ballot (get it in the mail today!) – just vote!

Okay, so why are you still here reading.  Leave.  Now.  Go to the polls.  Go to the post office.  Go!  Shoo!  Come back when you’ve voted.  I mailed my ballot in last week. [smile]

7 Comments

Filed under photography

7 responses to “Get out the Vote!

  1. Ha great shot summing up the political season.

  2. Monika

    Toni, Thanks for voting early.
    1 ? though, if you put your ballot into the mail today, will it count?
    I don’t quite get the mail in voting, sorry.

  3. Andy – that’s what I thought, too! The town in which I work has two empty lots across the street from each other – both filled with political signs. One side of the street is for the Dems, the other is for the Repubs. Multiple candidate signs in each. Really, how many signs of one candidate do you really need?

    Monika – if it is postmarked today, the ballot is still counted, but it seems anticlimatic to me since the results are already announced by the time they are counted. The last gubernatorial race, however, they were very important with two or three recounts. Every vote was extremely important. That’s one of the things, at least for the presidential race, that I don’t like about mail in ballots – I like being able to go into the booth, close the curtain, vote, and drop my ballot in the box and know that it is counted immediately.

  4. Monika

    Thanks for the explanation Toni, and yes it seems really anticlimatic, that the results are not known on election day. I’m going to pay special attention tonight, when the media declares which states are won/lost for either candidate. During the whole process, which seemed to go on forever, I’ve learned myriads about the United States elections system. Very eyeopening, very informative, and very different from Europe. But I did my part, I volunteered ……..and now I hope and wait anxiously.

  5. Elizabeth

    I dropped mine off at a collection site last week. Yay! 🙂

  6. I allowed the TV to consume my attention tonight. Finally turned it off & came to visit pblogs:-) You have a pretty neighborhood & the colors are stunning. (I voted early)

  7. BoB

    a wind of change blows through america today. I like this shot, a great message on it.