He looks like I feel

buddy-pensive

Buddy looks how I felt last night.  Pensive is the word, I think, and slightly out of focus.  I was so relieved Tuesday night when it was announced that Obama was elected our new president.  I’d had a knot in the pit of my stomach, for about a week actually, thinking about what a McCain/Palin win might mean for our country.  Yesterday that knot was fading away with the promise of the change to come.

I was reading the comments and posts on the different blogs that I go to and on the news articles that I was also reading.  Everyone was ecstatic about the outcome, full of hope for the future of our country, ready to roll their sleeves up and get to work.  I had tears of joy and pride in our country again.

Then I went to a new blog that I hadn’t been to before.  They weren’t happy.  They were very disappointed and disagreed with Obama on issues of morality and values (although they weren’t specific on what exactly they disagreed).  Wow.  I felt like I’d been hit in the stomach and that knot was immediately back.  There were tears again, but tears of disappointment that someone could see the same man that I do and see him in such a different light.  I was baffled.  I read the comments, hoping to see disagreement.  I did.  One person.  The rest were in agreement.  One person thought that “…the world is becoming completely void of morals…”  Why?  Because Obama was elected president?  Others were scared and I can relate to that – I was scared of McCain/Palin winning.  Fair enough.  Another person mentioned getting him out in four years.  He hasn’t even taken office yet!  Give him a chance first before you start talking about getting rid of him!

I just wish I could understand what they are thinking when they bring out the morality and values issue.  When I see Obama I see a man who is obviously in love with his wife and who loves his children.  I see a man who wants to protect the rights of women to choose, who have been raped or molested or whose life is in jeopardy, something McCain wants to strip away. 

Obama wants to invest in early childhood education and wants to reform No Child Left Behind.  He wants to invest in new sources of energy to lessen our dependence on foreign oil.  He want to provide accessible and affordable medical coverage for everyone and in doing so will reduce costs for everyone.  He wants to find a way to bring home our men and women serving in Iraq, sooner rather than later.  He wants to protect Social Security for the current and next generation, for which my mother and I are grateful.  I could go on, but I won’t. 

I don’t know about you, but I see values in these issues.  I see morality.  I see a good man who wants to see good things happen to our country.  I see a thoughtful man who will think things through before reacting.  I see a man that can bring about change and bring back the respect from our allies and the rest of the world. 

Yes, he can.  Yes, we can.

 

(This is the third installment of November in black and white – a challenge at Springtree Road to post November photos in…black and white – click here for more info.)

10 Comments

Filed under Buddy, photography

10 responses to “He looks like I feel

  1. We will never please everyone. But we can sure try. I hope that no mater what you believe that we can support our country and try and move it forward!

  2. Well written, Toni. This is what I see, for the most part, too. I’m surrounded by many who have opposite thoughts, though… It will be interesting to be alive during these next few years, as we see what change will mean.

    (I’ve abandoned my photo project for the time being to eliminate one thing from my daily “to do” list but I continue to look at yours and others that give beautiful glimpses of different parts of our great country.)

  3. Wonderful post. You expressed my sentiments perfectly. That knot in my stomach is gone…and it is with much relief and joy that I am celebrating this country’s victory. We can..and we did!!!

  4. And yes, we all can. I loved reading your post. Obama will have 4 years to do a lot of things that he has envisioned which will help our country rise. We’ve stumbled quite a bit under the Bush Administration, but there can be changes made and we believe in him.

    Buddy? he looks sad, gazing out that window. Nonetheless I love your capture, cute!

  5. Jen

    Came via Springtree Road – Love the picture! Fuzzy friends are often reflective of our moods in many ways.

    Just a note, not to be all sorts of contrary, but this statement:

    “I see a man who wants to protect the rights of women to choose, who have been raped or molested or whose life is in jeopardy, something McCain wants to strip away.” isn’t true… McCain says he can only condone abortion in those instances, but no others.

    Just a small note… it was the source of contention with many pro-lifers that he allowed even that.

  6. Jen,
    Thanks for commenting and for the correction. Apparently I heard him wrong during the debate. Here is a portion of the transcript – his final statement on the subject:

    MCCAIN: Just again, the example of the eloquence of Senator Obama. He’s health for the mother. You know, that’s been stretched by the pro-abortion movement in America to mean almost anything.

    That’s the extreme pro-abortion position, quote, “health.” But, look, Cindy and I are adoptive parents. We know what a treasure and joy it is to have an adopted child in our lives. We’ll do everything we can to improve adoption in this country.

    But that does not mean that we will cease to protect the rights of the unborn. Of course, we have to come together. Of course, we have to work together, and, of course, it’s vital that we do so and help these young women who are facing such a difficult decision, with a compassion, that we’ll help them with the adoptive services, with the courage to bring that child into this world and we’ll help take care of it.

    Transcript source

    And from his website:

    Overturning Roe v. Wade

    John McCain believes Roe v. Wade is a flawed decision that must be overturned, and as president he will nominate judges who understand that courts should not be in the business of legislating from the bench.

    Constitutional balance would be restored by the reversal of Roe v. Wade, returning the abortion question to the individual states. The difficult issue of abortion should not be decided by judicial fiat.

    However, the reversal of Roe v. Wade represents only one step in the long path toward ending abortion. Once the question is returned to the states, the fight for life will be one of courage and compassion – the courage of a pregnant mother to bring her child into the world and the compassion of civil society to meet her needs and those of her newborn baby. The pro-life movement has done tremendous work in building and reinforcing the infrastructure of civil society by strengthening faith-based, community, and neighborhood organizations that provide critical services to pregnant mothers in need. This work must continue and government must find new ways to empower and strengthen these armies of compassion. These important groups can help build the consensus necessary to end abortion at the state level. As John McCain has publicly noted, “At its core, abortion is a human tragedy. To effect meaningful change, we must engage the debate at a human level.”

  7. Elizabeth

    I wonder if I know what blog you mean, because I saw that comment on a blog and it’s been running through my mind ever since. In my case, the person who wrote it is an old friend of mine and so I may need to find out what exactly she meant.

    In general, when people talk about morals and values, they are usually referring to someone who supports abortion (and possibly gay marriage). I can understand the concern on the first – I may not agree with it, or think it the right approach, or believe that it is an attempt to legislate your beliefs – but I do understand.

    And yeah, I get disappointment. Had the opposite result occurred, you can be sure that I would be curled up in a fetal position in my tub, whimpering. So I suppose I have to allow others their time of mourning too. 😉

    When I see President-elect Obama, I see someone who believes in our country and its people and is spending his life in service for that cause. Someone who is a uniter, not a divider. Someone who has great ideas and a good team. Someone who loves his family. Someone who admits that they are not perfect but is trying to do the best he can. I am not sure how we could do better.

  8. Elizabeth,
    Yes, it is the same blog. I’m sure it is probably the abortion thing, too. I actually left a comment, but then emailed her and asked her to delete it. I didn’t want my first visit/comment to be somewhat negative. She was very nice and gracious in her reply, didn’t answer the question, though, and she did delete my comment. I don’t think it can be gay marriage, because Obama thinks marriage should be between a man and woman – he and McCain actually agreed upon that in one of the debates. I guess my whole thing is that it felt like they were saying he had NO morals or values. Hopefully that isn’t what was meant.
    I agree with everything you said about President-Elect Obama (isn’t that great to say!). He admittedly isn’t perfect, but I think he’ll be the best thing for our country. I listened to and read his election night speech again today – how inspiring!

  9. Kym

    I’m feeling something similar because, although I’m delighted Obama was elected, here in Calif. prop 8 passed. Marriage can no longer happen between gay couples. I’m so sad that people chose fear over love.

  10. You sparked some interest here. Now you know I am not from your country but let me tell you not only do I think Obama is good for America but good for the world. I think he conducts himself so well, he appears to speak from the heart (something many politicians do not do).

    Unfortunately we can not please everyone as everyone has different priorities on what is important, plus it is human nature not to accept change gracefully. Most people hate change. I can only hope in time these people see the good Obama can do for your country and eventually support him.

    I do think as adults we should have basic rights. Everyone has the right to be happy and to make informed decisions. We may not agree with peoples choices but I think if you take peoples choices away they will either do things illegally or forced choice can lead to depression and even suicide.

    Toni, untie those knots as you have a new president and do what you can to support him and believe. Let others have their opinions but remember they are just that … their opinions.

    PS: buddy is cute