Mums in black and white

apricot-blush-bw

I had a migraine all day yesterday so I didn’t get any new photos taken like I had planned.  Spent most of the day on the couch, wishing Buster would leave me alone so I could take a nap.  I finally managed a short one.  Anyway, since I didn’t have any new images I took an old one and desaturated it.  The mums had a yellow center, but when I desaturated it looked plastic-y, so I darkened the center for a bit of a different look.  Yeah, I’m cheating.  All this for November in black and white – click here for more info.

9 Comments

Filed under flowers, nature, photography

9 responses to “Mums in black and white

  1. You poor thing. I know the feeling. For years I suffered with cluster migraines until a new drug was trialled which cured me almost overnight! Dibilitating, frustrating and painful.

    A superb photograph which really works in mono for me, lovely detail

  2. Kym

    This is lovely, Toni. You didn’t cheat– you thought outside the box.

  3. well, you cheat good toni. 🙂

    hope your noggin is feeling better.

  4. I like the way this one turned out. You dont see flowers in b&w often but I think this works.

  5. Now that is a different viewpoint. Cool and interesting.

  6. Elizabeth

    that looks like a daisy. 🙂

    sorry about your headache. Too bad we couldn’t trade dogs for the day; Atlas settles in happily for a nap whenever I want one. 🙂

  7. Thanks everyone! I did have another headache today, but it wasn’t nearly as bad as yesterday’s.

    Elizabeth – Buddy always settles down for naps, too. Unfortunately Buster thinks it means play time…all over me. 🙄 He did settle down today for a nice nap, though. 🙂

  8. BoB

    Good choice of b&w, like the dof and composition

  9. Not cheating in my opinion as I think is an art to converting photos to black and white. One that a lot of people can not do this well. You have an eye for it.