An artist’s palette

granite

…Or canvas…or easel…In this case, easel works best.

As some of you might know from previous posts, in addition to my day job and my photography and my dogs, I also work in kilnformed glass.  I hesitate to use the term “artist”, as in “I am a glass artist”, as there is always discussion amongst us as to whether the creation of glass is art or craft.  I personally think it depends on the quality of the work produced by the individual.  So whether I am an artist, artisan, craftsperson or crafter, I’ll leave that up to the individual viewing my work. 

Besides glass, I use some granite in my work as a base for display.  I have this particular piece of granite sitting on my deck, where it has been collecting some fallen leaves from my honey locust tree.  I’ve been hesitant to cut into this piece, because I love the broken edge.  I need to create just the right piece so that I can use this piece of granite as is.  Soon…I hope.

Just in case you haven’t visited the link in my previous black and white photo posts, Maya at Springtree Road issued a challenge to post November photos in black and white – click here for more info.  This photo is another attempt at Maya’s challenge.

16 Comments

Filed under nature, photography

16 responses to “An artist’s palette

  1. You have such an eye for texture and this is yet another interesting photo. I like the contrast between the hard granite and the soft leaves under it…kinda brings to mind a struggle for life.

  2. What I like about this series is that you have to stop and think about what you are looking at and not just pass it by.

  3. Wow love the extreme shallow DOF on this. The b&w is perfect for this because of the black lines in the granite. I like it!

  4. i wish i could express how much i love granite. i love it lots. it reminds me of both a table and an ashtray my dad has – both are sentimental to me. this is a great photo. thanks for sharing. 🙂

  5. also meant to say, i can’t wait to see what you do with this piece of granite.

  6. I love this photo!! I would like to see what you do with this piece of granite as well!

    Sheri

  7. How I would love to work with glass or other mediums etc. How lucky you are.

  8. wow.. schedule’s pretty tight then.. it’s great that you could do the things you love.. 🙂

  9. It almost looks like a chunk of Roquefort cheese! I love it!

  10. Excellent tones and contrasts. Like the selective focus and a great angle.

  11. Elizabeth

    I am curious to see what you will do with it someday! In the meantime, it makes for a great photo. 🙂

  12. Thanks, everyone! I’m kind of surprised a piece of granite got so many comments! 😀
    Thanks to all the new visitors and for the comments! It is appreciated. 🙂

  13. BoB

    what an interesting macro, lovely dof

  14. The edge of this granite is so interesting, I can see why you dont want to cut it.

  15. interesting work, great use of grayscale here.

  16. Jen

    This TOTALLY makes me want to take a bite.

    And to make granite look appetizing? That’s an accomplishment. WONDERFUL photo!