Liddle lamzy divey

ivy

Mairzy doats and dozy doats and liddle lamzy divey
A kiddley divey too, wouldn’t you
Mairzy doats and dozy doats and liddle lamzy divey
A kiddley divey too, wouldn’t you

If the words sound queer and funny to your ear, a little bit jumbled and jivey
Sing “Mares eat oats and does eat oats and little lambs eat ivy”

–Milton Drake, Al Hoffman and Jerry Livingston

“Mares eat oats and does eat oats and little lambs eat ivy.  A kid’ll eat ivy, too.  Wouldn’t you?”

I think I was an adult before I finally realized that those were the correct words to that little ditty – probably because I hadn’t listened/heard/sang that song since childhood.  I don’t remember ever hearing the refrain that held the elusive clue.  I do remember singing that song as a child and probably annoying everyone within earshot.

Now I know this isn’t exactly black and white – it does have a tint of green added to it.  If Maya at Springtree Road, who initiated the November in Black and White challenge can use a green tint in one of her photos, I figure she’ll probably let me use a little green, too (although I think I used more than she did), and it was taken in monochrome.  To read more about the challenge click here for more info.

10 Comments

Filed under nature, photography

10 responses to “Liddle lamzy divey

  1. It almost looks under water

  2. The green tint really adds a splash of pizzazz to this marvellous photograph. Something I’d never have thought of. One of the pleasures of the photo blogging community, picking up useful hints and tips.

    Love the whiteness of the veins, and also your accompanying text. Superb

  3. Kym

    I’m liking this black and white photography you are doing. I’ve tried a bit but haven’t liked my results

  4. I dig this photo……it looks great with the green tinge!

  5. i love the tint! it totally works. my mom used to sing me that song when i was a kid and i sing it to V too. 🙂

  6. I’m detecting the slightest shade of a greenish gray hue in this one. Stunning.

  7. Elizabeth

    I actually wouldn’t have noticed the green tint without the greenish background! neat!

    I did not know there were real words to that song! I recognized it as soon as I read the first words.

  8. Wow…I love that old song. My mother sang it to me when I was little and I sang it to my children. I’ve always explained the words to them, but I think like you do we don’t fully comprehend them until we’re grown. Love your capture. Incredible desaturation of color.

  9. I love your dark lighting here!