My green list

meter

Two posts in one day!  How about that?  Make sure you check out the other post for today. –>

The Wayfaring Wanderer has a challenge and giveaway contest right now about what we as individuals do and can do to implement a “green” lifestyle.  The challenge is to list five things that you are doing already and then five things that you can start implementing.  This really is a challenge for me and tells me I need to be a better steward of our planet.

I finally came up with the fifth item (and added a few extra) after reading what other people are doing.  I had a lightbulb moment and I’m actually doing better than I thought!

  1. Reuse towels.
  2. Use cloth napkins.
  3. Only run the dishwasher when it is full (or in my case, overflowing).
  4. Energy efficient, super good cents, home.
  5. The temperature on my water heater is turned down.
  6. Don’t run the kiln during the summer months and during the winter months push the kiln’s heat output through the furnace system to save on heating.
  7. Reuse grocery store bags for trash and dog poo.
  8. Take short showers.
  9. Buy groceries locally or in the town where I work and only travel to buy when I can’t get it local (my dog’s food).
  10. Use a Brita water filter (thank you Hallie) and don’t buy water bottles.

 

 Now this is what I can do.

  1. Do a better job of recycling – right now about the only thing I recycle is cardboard (our town doesn’t make it easy to recycle at all).
  2. Turn down the heat and wear warmer clothing.
  3.  Reuse grocery bags at the grocery store or buy the reusable bags and keep them in my vehicle so they are easy to use.
  4. Switch to energy saving light bulbs.
  5. Turn off my laptop when not in use.

 

There!  I did it!  Woo hoo!  I didn’t think I’d be able to and, like I said already, I’m doing better than I thought I was.

This also qualifies for November in black and white – click here for info.

8 Comments

Filed under photography

8 responses to “My green list

  1. What an interesting photo you don’t see many shots of electric meters! I like how sharp it is and those are some great tips you shared!

  2. The photo works perfectly with your lists! I love your post. Switching to CFL’s will save you money on your light bill.

    Glad you participated :o)

  3. yay! see – you came up with more than 5!

    great photo

  4. Hi Toni
    I read your comments on my blog about your son being the executive chef at Brix. My husband and I LOVE that restuarant. We enjoy doing the art walk when its on at cda and eating at Brix. And as if that wasn’t coincidence enough…I read your blog entry today about green living and the accompanying picture caught my eye. Its a meter made by Itron which is here at Liberty Lake…and is my husband’s employer….funny!!!!!

  5. Very nicely composed photo. At first I thought it was a parking meter, no one likes those lol. But yes, it’s great to conserve things nowadays.

    BTW i like your idea of the BW photos. I’m no expert at BW and I’m thinking of doing a set of those too sometime.. keep it up! =D

  6. BoB

    Very interesting shot, I like it

  7. Fantastic DOF. I’m not sure what this is, but it makes quite a photo:-)

  8. Love the meter shot! We reuse our towels, too.