Potential Christmas Card

pinecone

I’ve been looking through my images trying to decide what I want to use for a Christmas card this year.  It will be the first year that I’ve not just bought a box of cards from Hallmark.  I’ve already got the card stock that you fold and insert your photo into – purchased and received quickly from Photographer’s Edge

I might take a few shots of my Christmas tree, but it will have to be taken while the tree is still in the closet.  The tree isn’t coming out until the day my boys come home for the holiday – Buster will eat it.  The last two years I was afraid Buddy might think it was a real tree (and you know what dogs do on real trees) so I didn’t set it out right away, but I think I’m okay with him this year.  I also thought I might take some night shots of Christmas lights once I set them up next weekend.  So we’ll see what happens in the next week or so.  Hopefully I’ll actually get the cards mailed before Christmas – usually it is after the holidays are over.  Yeah, I’m bad.

Another photo for Maya’s challenge at Springtree Road to post November photos in black and white – click here for more info and more fabulous photos.

15 Comments

Filed under Buddy, Buster, nature, photography

15 responses to “Potential Christmas Card

  1. A wonderful photograph, it feels as though I am some sort of tiny insect, peering at the cone my vantage point on one of the delicate strands.

    You know, when we put the Christmas tree up last time, Tom, the lardiest of our two cats, decided that a bauble looked at him in a funny way, and launched himself into the tree, breaking the base! Oh the joys of sellotape and superglue ha ha

  2. Oh this is fantastic – and yes I agree it would be an awesome Christmas card.

  3. Funny…just today I was photographing pine cones and thinking that it would make a wonderful xmas card as well. Love the monochrome here. Really nice!

  4. Love the processing. This really would make a fine Christmas card!

  5. redpaperclip

    I saw this photo and the first thing that came to mind my was “This would be a great xmas card” without noticing the title and entry.
    All in all, amazing shot for a card. 🙂

  6. ELK

    the pine cones really shoe their texture in b/w….I have not even thought about Christmas cards…great link thanks!

  7. Thanks for the link. I love your picture. What lens are you using for that…I have a 50mm f/1.8 lens but I’m not sure I could get as good a clarity with that as you have in your picture

  8. Thanks everyone! I hope you find the link useful.
    Donna – I had to get the box out to tell you! Ha! The lens I’m using is what came with the camera – it is an EF-S 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6. Right now it is the only lens I have. Hopefully after Christmas it will be a little different.

  9. Elizabeth

    I like this photo!

    I need to order my photos. I’m going to stick postcard backs on them and send out like postcards, though I think I may need to order more postcard backs too. Bother .. perhaps this won’t be my Thanksgiving weekend project like I though it would be. 🙂

  10. BoB

    great tilt, another great b&w macro

  11. Definitely, a Christmas card photo. It is beautiful, you have nailed the light in this shot.

  12. I like that a lot! That is just awesome!

  13. This almost looks like an IR photo……I’d say that I like this one better than the current photo!

  14. Thanks for the lens info…I have the same lens as the one you mentioned. Yippeeee….You have inspired me to go macro…thanks
    Donna

  15. Both photos are beautiful! And this reminds me of another to do on my list … ;o)