Frosty

frosty-leaf-2a

This is another image I’m thinking about using for my Christmas card this year – yesterday’s image (go back a page) is another possibility.  I took this yesterday morning and have two other frosty leaf options to consider as well.  I still need to uncover the Christmas tree, which by the way is fully decorated in a corner of it’s closet.

Another photo for Maya’s challenge at Springtree Road to post November photos in black and white – click here for more info and more wonderful photos.  Maya is in the middle of a move right now, but if you click on the comments of her most recent post, you’ll see links to other photos – just copy and paste the link.

12 Comments

Filed under nature, photography

12 responses to “Frosty

  1. I think I like yesterday’s more. It just seemed more “Christmassy”. Is that a word?

  2. We’ll call it a word, Christopher. Thanks for the opinion – that’s what I want to hear!! 🙂

  3. The frost glistens. Love this!
    This might make a more ‘abstract’ artsy christmas card..dontcha think???

  4. Thanks, Marcie! That’s kind of what I was leaning towards, but I like hearing people’s opinions.

  5. Elizabeth

    hmmm .. they both have potential. I actually had a hard time figuring out what this was until I read the text, but color would help.

  6. It just feels awesome to make your own christmas cards from your own photography! =D

  7. Elizabeth – I took the image with the camera on the monochrome setting. If I see frost on the leaves again, I’ll take it in color. That is, if the leaves are still there!
    Liang – it is really fun and I want to pick out just the right photo. I have a lot of favorite cards, but they aren’t Christmassy, as Christopher says.

  8. The tones and DOF are spectacular. Really love the grayscale processing here, excellent work.

  9. Very cool macro showing these ice crystals! For a Christmas card idea I like the last photo better as it seems more like a Christmas thing to me.

  10. This is of such quality and detail, it could easily feature in a magazine or book. Incredible beauty, so wonderfully presented. Mono works perfectly

  11. The ice crystals look a lot like sugar. I like the greyscale.

  12. I agree with Sherri, the leaf looks as if it is dusted in sugar. very pretty, I think putting an nice green or red or gold Christmas border around this one would look fab.