The last of the leaves on the trees

tree-branch

I have today off from work – actually the rest of the week.  Yay!!  I stopped and bought groceries last night after work in anticipation of Thanksgiving.  Lots and lots of groceries.  My son will be doing most of the cooking when he gets here on Thursday morning with a couple of friends, but today I will be baking pies and bread.  And cleaning.  Lots and lots of cleaning. 

For the first time in quite a while we will be having a traditional Thanksgiving meal, with turkey and stuffing, mashed potaotes, green bean casserole, scalloped corn, etc.  Except my son will be putting his own spin on things.  He’ll be cutting the breast off the bone, tying it together and roasting it and then poaching the legs and thighs in oil – low and slow, not fried hot.  A turkey confit, if you will.

My other son and his girlfriend will be spending Thanksgiving at her parents, since they were here last year.  I remember having to split the holiday, but our parents lived in the same town!  It was more of an afternoon at one place and the evening at the other.  They will be stopping through town for a short visit on Sunday on their way back home.  That’ll be nice.

So what are your plans?  Traveling?  Staying home?  Cooking?  Going out to eat?  Friends and family?  Volunteering?

Another photo for Maya’s challenge at Springtree Road to post November photos in black and white – click here for more info and more wonderful photos.

10 Comments

Filed under nature, photography

10 responses to “The last of the leaves on the trees

  1. Wow. That is a great shot Toni. Really! I love that. So cool.

  2. The light in your pictures is always wonderful. I always enjoy visiting your blog. Thanksgiving will be quiet for us…as we have no family here in the U.S we usually go to one of our friends places. Although…with your son the chef cooking….maybe we will come and crash your Thanksgiving…hehehehe. Have a great day!

  3. I love the light coming through the leaf showing the veins … if that is in fact what they are called. Either way its a very cool shot.

  4. Seems like a very fun-filled events scheduled for the holidays. Happy Thanksgiving Toni! =D

  5. Monika

    Toni, this would be my choice for christmas card. I love the way the leaves look, so fragile and almost like glass.
    Thanksgiving – I’ll do all the cooking and cleaning – the family enjoys the food and the game :-), and I’ll take some glass out of the kiln as well.
    Wishing you and your loved ones a very Happy Thanksgiving. I’m thankful to have finally met you this year. Enjoy your time with Erik, I’m sure your dinner will be perfect. gobble…:-)

  6. Elizabeth

    volunteering in the aft
    staying in with movies, pumpkin dessert, and stuffing (and the pup, natch) in the evening

    sounds yummy! what do you usually make for Thanksgiving if not traditional?

  7. Elizabeth

    also – have a very happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

  8. E – You know, I’ve been trying to think about what we usually have and it is very different from year to year and I get them mixed up with Christmas. One year we had duck cooked five different ways – including the skin. That was probably Christmas, though. Another year it was osso bucco. One year it was Asian. One year was kind of traditional with prime rib, but that might have been Christmas. I think last year was pork tenderloin and scallops. The food is always to die for, three or four courses and if you were to order it in a restaurant it would easily be $30-35 a plate or more. He always does a beautiful presentation, too. He probably won’t plate tomorrow and will do more of a family style pass and serve.
    You have a very happy Thanksgiving, too. Enjoy the volunteering – I kinda thought you might be doing that. 🙂

  9. Thanks and have a great Thanksgiving everyone!
    Hugs to you, Monika!!

  10. Having your son cook for you is so lovely. I hope you have an enjoyable thanks giving.