Beauty in a drop of water

branch-water-drop-2

Today is Thanksgiving, a day of giving thanks.  I am thankful today for N & H and E.  I am thankful for my mom (and I’m not sure how I forgot her – thanks, Mom).  I am thankful for Buddy and Buster…most days.  (I’m kidding – every day!!)  I am thankful for a roof over my head, groceries in the pantry, and a good job.   I’m thankful for my camera, which has allowed me to get to know quite a few wonderful people through their comments (although none in person…yet).  I’m also thankful for the camera because it has allowed me to find beauty in simple things, such as this drop of water.  It has opened my eyes to the world around me, be it my backyard, my place of employment or places where I get to visit.  There is beauty everywhere, if we are just willing to open our eyes and minds to it.

I’m wishing you a day of beauty and thanksgiving (and safe travel) with your family, friends, pets, or even a complete stranger…Happy Thanksgiving.

[Another photo for Maya’s challenge at Springtree Road to post November photos in black and white – click here for more info and more wonderful photos.  Yes, this one is sepia, but it was taken in black/white.]

14 Comments

Filed under Buddy, Buster, nature, photography, sons

14 responses to “Beauty in a drop of water

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! Love the reflection in the water drop.

  2. What a wonderful shot. I hope that you have a great day. I think I may “steal” your idea and do a month of BW to see what I can come up with. If anything, I think I will become a better photographer because of it.

  3. Mom

    Hey, what about me!!!! Mom

  4. Mom – I’m so sorry!! My only excuse is I wrote this post around 12:30 am while I was waiting for the bread and pies to bake. I was so tired!! I added you and I am very thankful for you. 😀

  5. It sure does have a sign of beauty with the drip, happy thanksgiving with your special feast! =D

  6. A beautiful photograph and words to match. Yes, sometimes when we look through a lens and start to ‘see’ things that perhaps we have taken for granted through our own eyes, we realise just how amazing this wonderful planet is, and how privileged we are to be a part of it.

    I wish mankind would stop and think before his appetite for destruction finallly signals his own doom.

    The reflection in the water droplet is exquisite, and the image has such a dreamlike quality, utterly beautiful. Have a great day

  7. Definitely a wow factor in this image. Hope your Thanksgiving was good:-)

  8. Kym

    Happy Thanksgiving! I hope it was wonderful, Toni!

    Is that drop of water actually reflecting you? It is beautiful in black and white.

  9. Thanks everyone!
    Kym – that is actually the tree behind it that you can see in the drop of water. I might try to zoom in on just that water drop and post it.

  10. happy thanksgiving toni! i love the soft brown and of course water is my thing these days .. capturing it in my camera i mean… i smiled at your mom coming to visit you and reminding you that you forgot her. many bloggers wish for more family visits and comments. yeah for toni’s mom!!

  11. Simply perfect! Love the reflection in the single drop of water.
    Hope your Thanksgiving was warm and wonderful!!!!

  12. Wishing you a very happy thanksgiving, beautiful image

  13. Elizabeth

    oh what a wonderful photo! I agree with your assessment. I find myself taking much more notice of the little things and the beauty in them when I have my “camera eye” on (whether or not the camera is with me).

  14. redpaperclip

    Absolutely amazing!!! This image is just outstanding. The reflection, the depth of field, and the color create a very powerful composition.
    I’ve really enjoyed your b&w series.