The image within

branch-water-drop-closeup

This is a tight crop of the water droplet that I posted on Thanksgiving day.  You wouldn’t think that a drop of water would be so interesting, but just take a look at that and see what you see.  I stared at it for a while the other day and I’m pretty sure the main part of the image is a tree directly behind it and that dark part at the bottom of the drip is the roof of the storage shed behind that – the image is upside down, but what I find more interesting is all the other things I see in that small drop of water.  I don’t know about you, but I think it is pretty cool.

Another photo for Maya’s challenge at Springtree Road to post November photos in black and white – click here for more info and more wonderful photos.  This one is sepia, but it was taken in black/white.

10 Comments

Filed under nature, photography

10 responses to “The image within

  1. It almost looks crystalized.

  2. Toni – This is amazing. I showed my husband this picture and he asked..”Is that a tree?”…I didn’t see it at first until he pointed it out. How can a tiny little droplet of water be so interesting. Wonderful photography to capture it!

  3. Amazing to see how much a single drop of water can hold! Fantastic macro!

  4. ELK

    the color of the photo lends itself to the highlight of the drop ~ I think it is beautiful.

  5. Mom

    Toni: I see people! On top is a little boy with a cowboy hat on. It reminds me of Black Friday everyone pushing to shop. Mom

  6. What I love about this macro waterdrop is the reflection shown in the water. Nice heavy detailed =D

  7. Wow just amazing. Love the tree reflection in this tiny water drop. Incredible!

  8. Elizabeth

    pretty cool! I see a dandelion just about to burst and fly away.

  9. Thanks everyone! I’m glad you can see different things in the water drop. I think my mom wins for creativity. 😉