My happy thought

my happy thought

Graham at One Man’s Travels issues a monthly photography challenge and November’s challenge is “Happiness”.  Each photograph should represent something that makes you feel happy.  One of my happy thoughts are my two pups, Buddy and Buster.  Buddy is approaching three years old and Buster will soon be one.   I tried to get these two to sit down side by side.  Yeah, it wasn’t happening.

Buster and I had to take a trip to the vet yesterday.  Thanksgiving day both of his eyes were looking pretty red, but I just figured it was because we went to bed at 1:30 am the night before and got up at 6:00 am Thursday morning.  With company and another dog, there was lots of excitement for both dogs.  Friday he slept all day and didn’t want to play catch, which is highly unusal.  By the afternoon I noticed both of his eyes were rather goopy so off to the vet we went.  He has ulcerations in both eyes, probably from playing too hard with Buddy.  Home we came with four different meds and he seems to be feeling much better today.  We’ll have to go back to the vet on Monday for a glaucoma test and to see if there is improvement and healing.  I sure hope so.  It is amazing how much you worry about a furry companion, especially when they can’t tell you what is wrong.

All’s good with Buddy!!  Yay!

This is the final image for November in Black and White, a challenge issued by Maya at Springtree Road – click here for more info and more wonderful photos.  For those of you enjoying the black and white images, never fear, there will be more to come.

13 Comments

Filed under Buddy, Buster, photography

13 responses to “My happy thought

  1. Funny shot. Have a great Sunday.

  2. I wonder what they are conversing…. =D Great shot!

  3. Good job getting them in the same frame! I hope your little pup feels better. I have enjoyed your B&W series this month…can’t wait to see what you have in store next month!

  4. FUN!!!..and yes – very happy!!!!

  5. Hope all goes well. You are so right, one of our little feline furbags was off colour last week, grumpy faced and not his usual self. We found a nasty lump on his tail and the vets confirmed a broken tail!

    Tom absolutely loved the pain killing liquid drugs we administered each day by a dropper, and is now absolutely fine, just with a big lump in that tail! If only they could talk

    Love the photograph, they look such fun. I cannot imagine a life without the love of animals

  6. Lol…really looks like they are having loads of fun…it must have been a great Thanksgiving day 🙂 Hope Buster gets well soon!

  7. Elizabeth

    I do think that’s what makes it so hard – that they can’t tell us what’s wrong or where they’re hurting. They just look sad and mournful. And of course, my mind immediately jumps to the “he’s dying”. Where is my optimism then, LOL. 🙂

    I love that shot – probably more than if they were sitting calmly side-by-side. 🙂

  8. Thanks everyone for the well wishes for Buster. He is definitely feeling better and I think the ulceration on the worst eye is finally starting to look better. Tomorrow we go to the vet again for a progress check and glaucoma test. Boston’s are prone to eye problems, and if you wonder why just take a look at Buster! 😀

  9. They look like they’d really put on a show. This is truly and black and white image and not greyscale as I typically describe them. Wonderful capture.

  10. I noticed the part about the eyes after I posted the first comment. Hope all goes well at the Vet tomorrow…today:-)

  11. Kym

    I’m glad Buster is doing better.

  12. Thanks, Sherri! And it is still tomorrow here. 🙂
    Thanks, Kym. It is definitely a reflief.

  13. I love the ball in mouth pose by buster. I hope all is ok at the vet’s too. So not only do your furry friends make you happy, they also make you worry. I guess that shows just how much you love them. All the joy Buster and Buddy bring you, will alway out weight the worrying times, will make up for any holes they dig or the shoes they steel.

    I love the tonality in this shot