My favorite tree

birch-trunk-3

I love birch trees.  I love it’s peeling bark.  I love it’s texture.  I love the little catkins that they get in the fall.  And maybe in the spring.  I’m not sure when they normally get them – I know mine has new ones on the branches right now, but I was also thinking it had new ones this spring.  I’ll have to remember to pay attention next year.  In case you can’t tell, my memory is TERRIBLE.  I’d take the herb that is supposed to help with your memory, but I can never remember what it is called! lol

17 Comments

Filed under nature, photography

17 responses to “My favorite tree

  1. You were right yesterday is your post on my blog; the DOF in shots really makes a huge difference.

  2. I’m glad you took it in the spirit it was given. 🙂 In this image here, if there wasn’t DOF, the branch in the background would have been distracting. Some shots it is hard to get, though.

  3. I like this one Toni — this shot makes me happy 😉

  4. I love them too! In fact, I find beauty in the simplest of trees. But this one is quite graceful. And you captured it perfectly. Perfectly.
    Brenda

  5. I hear you about the memory thing…I am still in my 30’s (just) but my kids insist I am getting Alzheimers..(thanks guys!) Great photo today…I like how the rough is being peeled away to reveal the smooth underneath

  6. Oh…we’re back into color!!! Excellent detail and quality of light. Birches are my favorites as well.

  7. ELK

    you make me smile with your words and WOW me with your images…I do miss birch none in my area too HOT!

  8. This is an amazing macro shot, I love it and I love birch trees too. I am thinking of planting another 3 in my back yard. If you clump them together they do not grow as big (apparently)

  9. Very nice Macro love all the textures. Birch trees really are very cool!

  10. Elizabeth

    ginseng? I love this shot – great color and depth!

  11. I love birch trees too. My favorite is the red, clump birch. The only reason I know the name is because my husband keeps me informed. I rarely know the proper name. Love the image.

  12. So beautiful! My parents have a very special birch tree in their front yard. They planted it in memory of my older brother who died as an infant. Thank you for the comments on my black and white photos during November. You have a lovely blog.

  13. A wonderful photograph. Lovely detail. As for the memory thing…….

    What was I saying? Ha ha

  14. BoB

    I like the delicated dof and the bark texture

  15. Magnificent snap of this beauty. Stunning.

  16. One could do worse than be a swinger of birches…

    Nice composition, I’m enjoying your fall colors.

  17. Speaking of birch trees and memory, this image reminds me of a birch we had in our front yard when I was young. I remember peeling back the bark and then being frightened away by a spider that was hiding behind the bark! I still don’t like spiders, but I still love birch trees 😉