Schnitzel with noodles

mac and cheese

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things

I don’t know why, but that song (from The Sound of Music) always reminds me of Christmas.  It was the closest thing to a Christmas song that I could find, with lyrics that mention one of my favorite things – macaroni and cheese.  Okay, so I might have taken liberties.  It has ham instead of schnitzel, but there is definitely a noodle or two.  And lots and lots of cheese.  Four different cheeses, to be exact – cheddar (of course), monterey jack, colby, and some feta flavored with basil and tomato.  I was in the mood for some comfort food last night –  something that warms the soul in this frightful weather. 

Mac and cheese…Hmm, hmm, good.

14 Comments

Filed under photography

14 responses to “Schnitzel with noodles

  1. Toni, when can I come over for dinner? That looks great. 🙂

  2. ELK

    ok I am coming right over surely you have some left ~your photo was magic!

  3. MMM looks tasty. Liked your Christmas song too 🙂

  4. pass the plate to the left… yum-yum. leftovers are looking pretty desperate now

  5. That looks good! The snow falling on your website is pretty cool as well

  6. Elizabeth

    oh, I love mac’n’cheese. And that song. If you lived closer, I’d invite myself over. 🙂

  7. Oh, it was so very good and there are still left overs!
    .
    Elizabeth – if you did live closer you’d be more than welcome!!

  8. the snow! the song! all of this is so festive and yummmmmm the food is making my mouth water. literally!
    xo

  9. oh wait… can i come with elizabeth for left overs?

  10. You can’t beat a bit of comfort food, or a bit of cheese come to that!

    Next time you make some, give me a shout ha ha. An image and words to cheer up a very dull and drab day here

  11. Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens, brown paper packages tied up with string theses are a few of my favorite things.
    When the dog bites, when the bee stings, when I’m feeling sad. I simply remember my favorite things and …. Then I don’t feel sooooo bad.

    I love the sound of music and that songs. Your noodles look pretty yummy too.

  12. BoB

    Is it tasty? I’ve never eat and see it.

  13. Brown paper packages tied up in string….
    That song – somehow – is comforting and hopeful..as is your mac and cheese! Keep warm!!!

  14. BoB – it is very tasty and a classic American dish, although I think it might be popular in other countries as well.