Here we are as in olden days…

old-yellow-bldg

…happy golden days of yore.
Faithful friends who are dear to us
gather near to us once more.

I have no idea what this old building is – it is located about a half a block off of the main street in my small town.  It does remind me of the “olden days, happy golden days of yore”.  Maybe because it is kind of a golden color…maybe because it is boarded up…maybe a combination of both, I don’t know.  What it does reminds me of is an old train station, but it is a little too far from the tracks to be an old train depot.  On the end of the building is a kind of barn door, but not big enough for a typical barn door.  It’s a mystery.

This was taken yesterday with my Lensbaby.  I think I had the wide angle lens attached, but it could have been the telephoto.  I was switching back and forth when I was taking the pictures of this building.  There is a sweet spot with the Lensbaby – the area where the image is in focus.  Tilting the lens up, down or sideways changes the location of the sweet spot, and how much the lens is tilted also changes where the sweet spot is located.  Finding that sweet spot consistently is proving to be a challenge for me, probably because of my glasses.  That’s my excuse anyway.  I’m still having fun with it, regardless.  Today I have to go into the office, so I’m taking it with me.

7 Comments

Filed under Lensbaby, old buildings, photography, places

7 responses to “Here we are as in olden days…

  1. It’s dreamy… great contrast

  2. I agree a very dreamy feeling to this photo. Almost seems like something you would see on the front of a Christmas CD.

  3. Am really loving the lensbaby effect. Wonderful winter image!

  4. Great windy feeling, tilt shift? hehe…

  5. You captured a wonderful and beautiful winter scene. Well done!

  6. BoB

    amazing snowy scene, merry christmas

  7. wow! i am really attracted by these warm-toned images you capture toni! that’s a building with a story….