To walk under the branches

locust-tree-trunk

To be able to walk under the branches of a tree that you have planted is really to feel you have arrived with your garden.  So far we are on the way: we can now stand beside ours.
– Mirabel Osler

I can walk under the branches of this honey locust tree.  I planted this in my backyard as a bare root tree the summer after I moved into my home.  I posted a photo earlier of the base of the trunk (cool vertical ribbing), which has actually gotten a lot of page views, surprisingly enough – see it here.   My son asked me to pick out a locust tree when I went to the local nursery’s annual sale.  I’m glad I listened to him.  This tree grew rather quickly and has nicely shaded the southwest side of my home the last couple of years. 

I don’t feel I have arrived with my garden yet, though.  The birch, aspen and catalpa are slower to grow – and the catalpa needs to be moved after the snow melts and the earth thaws.  I think that it is  going to be a while before that can happen.

Happy Boxing Day to my fellow photobloggers in the UK, Australia, New Zealand, and Canada!

6 Comments

Filed under Lensbaby, nature, photography

6 responses to “To walk under the branches

  1. The lens baby is so dreamy! The locust trunk looks like an elephants leg…

  2. joaomourao

    I envy you. Lensababies are so cool. Perfect perspective and focus point.

  3. Lovely DOF everywhere above the branch!

  4. beautiful photo, looks like you are mastering your lens baby quickly.

    Thanks for the boxing day wishes.

  5. Wow really cool! Love the DOF!

  6. You may have convinced me to add a lensbaby to my wishlist.