Winter rose

winter-rose

A winter rose is very rare
Whose delicate petals weep
As the bitter north winds blows
Them fiercely off to sleep
They awaken from their slumber
Beneath a warming sun

And rise to stretch in glory
As a new day has begun
The winter rose has flourished
Through the passing time
A symbol of life’s passion
And love that is sublime

A new beginning, never to end
A life’s passion, deeper than the sea
Embracing this thirsty soul
Never to be separated again
By the north wind blows..this winter rose

JoJo Bean, Dodgy Dave and Meggie Gultiano

__________________________________

Forgive the soft focus of this image.  I almost didn’t post it, but I liked it enough that I overlooked the focus issues.  I took my camera, with Lensbaby attached, across the street to my neighbor’s driveway and took this image of their rose bush.  I think it is a rose of sharon bush – not your typical rose bush anyway.  These are the little seed pod things that are left behind after the rose is spent.  I was quickly losing light, standing there in my slippers with no coat on and I couldn’t find the sweet spot of the lens.  Still learning!!

8 Comments

Filed under flowers, Lensbaby, nature, photography

8 responses to “Winter rose

  1. beautiful and poetic captures , not only this one but your previous too!

  2. Poetic motion of words and image, which works wonderfully. The photograph feels somehow unsettling, intruguing, and it’s a very creative angle that you’ve taken. I love it when boundaries are pushed, lines crossed, and risks taken in life as in photography.

    This is a post that makes me think, many diverse thoughts and I like that.

  3. Beautiful blurry effect on the rose. It makes me wonder that the holiday season has gone by so fast.. so sudden. =D

  4. Love..love..love the soft focus and blurr. So sensuous and beautiful!!!

  5. Elizabeth

    dangnabit, now I want a Lensbaby too. 🙂

    I went through the photos you posted while I was away and absolutely love them! I really like the soft focus on this one, love the tree shots, the bread & cheese shot, and the house shots. Just gorgeous. Except that I haven’t eaten today so the bread & cheese made me hungry, LOL.

  6. The soft focus works great here. Its a beautiful shot!!

  7. The color is great. I wish you’d struck a clearer focal point because I’d like to see the flower. It may be something I’d like to grow:-)

  8. The soft focus makes it look very romantic, but I agee with you. Maybe you could try again with a coat on as this would be a perfect shot if the focus was the same as the previous photo post.