44: At a crossing

train-crossing

It seems our country has been stuck at a crossing, waiting for the train (wreck) that is GW to go on by.  Today he finally has and the crossing arms are rising to a new day and a new president.  Thank goodness for change.

_____________________________________

[Editor’s Note] 

This post is inspired, of course, by our new president, President Barack Obama, and by a fellow blogger Melissa at I Have Mom Hair Now  (and Shutter Sisters) who encouraged everyone to post a photo and write 44 words for our 44th president – see above paragraph.

I was also reminded and inspired by my son yesterday morning that yesterday was a day of service.  My son’s intention was to donate blood, however he called back several hours later with two badly sprained ankles from a bad snow boarding wipe out.  Hopefully he’ll still be able to donate today.  What were your plans for this day of service?

14 Comments

Filed under photography

14 responses to “44: At a crossing

  1. This shot turned out great and I hope Mr Obama turns out to be as great as a lot people are saying. I will pray for Mr Obama and our nation today.

  2. Beautiful image and perfect metaphor!

  3. don

    I pray for and wish our new President all the best.

  4. Kym

    I love the dangerous looking lights! How did you do that?

    Hooray for change and Obama symbolizes that better than anyone else could. Yesterday 4 generations of my family picked up trash. We’re ready for a clean start!

  5. Kym, I have no idea how I did that! It could have been a couple of raindrops on the windshield – that’s the only thing I could think of when I first saw the image on my laptop. Yay to clean starts!!

  6. Interesting ghosting with the lights. I like your 44 words

  7. shalet

    Excellent use of 44 words!

  8. Great photo and very fitting words! Glad to join this project. I donated a bag of groceries to a food bank for my service project. Fun!

  9. Elizabeth

    I love that photo (crazy lights!) and verse. I am happy for a new day and a new president.

  10. Hope your son is okay. This capture is really cool.

  11. This picture is wonderful. I like the fish in the sky. I hope your son gets better soon.

  12. lights of fest in the winter!