The time has come

harvest-history

A moment in time and history, 1928.  The Olympic Winter Games took place in Switzerland with the opening ceremonies on February 11.  Charles Lindbergh was presented the Medal of Honor for his first trans-Atlantic flight on March 21.  Mickey and Minnie Mouse made their first appearance on May 15 in an animated short Plane Crazy.  June 18 Amelia Earhart became the first woman to fly across the Atlantic.  The world’s largest hailstone fell in Potter, Nebraska on July 6.   And Alexander Fleming discovered penicillin on September 28. 

On January 20, 2009, President Barack Hussein Obama was sworn in as Commander in Chief of the United States of America.  And we were here to see it happen, and not just read about it in a history book (or Wikipedia).  Now how cool is that?!?  Yes, history was made today, but a call to arms was also made.  Arms in the sense that each of  us must roll up our sleeves and begin by putting our own two arms to work.  Work in service of our country, our community, and our family.  “Starting today, we must pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off, and begin again the work of remaking America.”

“…the time has come to set aside childish things. The time has come to reaffirm our enduring spirit; to choose our better history; to carry forward that precious gift, that noble idea, passed on from generation to generation: the God-given promise that all are equal, all are free, and all deserve a chance to pursue their full measure of happiness.” ~ President Obama

15 Comments

Filed under old buildings, photography

15 responses to “The time has come

  1. Kym

    I love murals and this one is quite nice and I like how you caught it at such a quiet moment. I’m ready to pitch in and help. I certainly feel more hopeful with the evils of Guantanamo being repudiated by our new president.

  2. don

    This is a fabulous mural. It strikes me as an amazing perspective with such a huge image. I wish the new President every success!

  3. such a nice idea, I mean your frame 😉

  4. Marvelous mural…well captured. Also…no truer words were ever spoken. I’m happy I found you blog, have bookmarked it, and will visit often.

  5. Kym – the moments are always quiet in my town! 😛
    Suzanne – I’m so happy you found me. I hope you do come back. 🙂

  6. yes we can…

    great picture

  7. Love your chosen quote. He speaks to us all.
    ‘Be the change’.
    Collectively – we can!!!
    Love the mural. Such a wonderful juxtaposition of time!!!

  8. Great historical building. History is one of my favorite subjects.

  9. Beautiful mural and I see the moon:-)

  10. Mom

    Beautiful mural. I never saw that mony horses pulling a combine thru. Mom

  11. Elizabeth

    beautiful mural.

    I’m ready to pitch in! I really liked the quote you chose. 🙂

  12. BoB

    curious and original mural

  13. Beautiful mural cities should have more of these scattered around.

    I just gave you, your second blog award and it is different to the first 🙂

  14. Wow what a beautiful mural this is!!

  15. We have a few towns left where murals are painted on the old buildings. I hope they never disappear. It’s a pleasure to see this one.