All you ever wanted to know…

squash

…about:

Squash \Squash\, n.

A game much like rackets, played in a walled court with soft rubber balls and bats like tennis rackets.

Squash \Squash\, n.

1. Something soft and easily crushed; especially, an unripe pod of pease.

Not yet old enough for a man, nor young enough for a boy; as a squash is before ‘t is a peascod. –Shak.

2. Hence, something unripe or soft; — used in contempt. “This squash, this gentleman.” –Shak.

3. A sudden fall of a heavy, soft body; also, a shock of soft bodies. –Arbuthnot.

My fall was stopped by a terrible squash. –Swift.

Squash \Squash\, n. [Cf. Musquash.]

(Zo[“o]l.) An American animal allied to the weasel. [Obs.]

Squash \Squash\, n.

[Massachusetts Indian asq, pl. asquash, raw, green, immaturate, applied to fruit and vegetables which were used when green, or without cooking; askutasquash vine apple.]

(Bot.) A plant and its fruit of the genus Cucurbita, or gourd kind.

Source:  Dictionary.net

I should mention that this is some more fake stuff from the office.  Only one more office photo to go.  Looks like I’m going to have to get my camera out again during lunch to see what I can see.

11 Comments

Filed under Lensbaby, photography

11 responses to “All you ever wanted to know…

  1. don

    A fine image for its careful focus, color and impression is gives. The definitions were must more varied than I would have quickly thought!
    Nice one.

  2. Love the DOF!! Really cool photo.

  3. oh fake is good!! i love, love love those color smears! if i could i would take photographs of blurred objects just so that i could immerse myself in that richness! well maybe i should do just that.

  4. Who’d have ever thought there could be so many ways to define ‘squash’. Love how you’ve visually defined it most of all!!!

  5. The colors make this pop! Love it.

  6. ELK

    i now know more about sqaush than ever…looks great there fake or not….

  7. dianeschuller

    I don’t know about anyone else but I adore this photo. I think it’s a combination of the shallow dof and selective focus but also the curves and colour. So appealing

  8. Elizabeth

    I love your visual definition the most! I had no idea there were no many other definitions though.

  9. There you go, educational and fun, you see, I told them at school all those years ago that it WAS possible to combine the two! Ha ha

    Neat image and info, Toni

  10. Fun description you put with this image. What an array of color.

  11. This reminds me of a platypus for some reason